“The Day of the Triffids” and Venturing Into Apocalyptic Fiction

In this post, I am going to talk about the post-apocalyptic genre as a whole while also talking about the classic “The Day of the Triffids” by John Wyndham. I could have written a book discussion, but I wanted to talk about the genre more than the book. So, let’s get started!

A few days ago, I was watching a video recommending apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic novels in Jen Campbell’s channel. I will link the video here for you. While watching this video, I realized that I’ve never read much of this genre even though I find it incredibly interesting. All the books that Jen and Sanne recommended in the video interested me and I wanted to buy them immediately. I have read a lot of dystopian because the young-adult literature is filled with them. But the only post-apocalyptic books that I remember reading is Station Eleven. If you have read my discussion for this book, you know that I loved it. I started to wonder why this genre is so new to me. And then I realized that I haven’t read many books from the genre because I don’t see much of this genre in the places I go to search for new books. Until recently, all the booktubers I watched or book blogs I read concerned mainly YA. But I am slowly easing myself to lots of different genres including literary fiction. And that is where I found the best books of this genre.

Like I said, I wanted to read all the books from Jen and Sanne’s recommendations. I started with “The Day of the Triffids“. Believe it or not, I’ve never heard of this book before, even though it is a classic. But the premise sounded very interesting to me and I gave it a go. This book hooked me from the start. It is not very long and the language is very easy to read. I am going to link the Goodreads page of this book here so that you can see the synopsis for yourself. As I expected, the story was beautiful. And there is always something happening in the story which makes it easy for you to go through it in one sitting. I didn’t feel that attached to the characters but the situations kept me engaged and interested. It was also really scary sometimes. I think this is also something that interests me a lot about this genre. I really don’t read horror or watch horror movies because I’m really scared by them. But in this genre, the horror is in small doses which is perfect for me. I recently watched 10 Cloverfield Lane which is also a post-apocalyptic movie and it only increased my interest in this genre.

The other thing that attracts me about these books is how messed up they can be. I love books that are incredibly messed up, which is also why Gone Girl is one of my favourite books of all times and why I love psychological thrillers. It interests me to see how far the survival instincts of humans can push them to go and the many ways people can react to the same situation. So many ideologies clash when it’s literally the end of the world and it’s just amazing to see how different authors think about the different ways humans deal with it. These books give a great understanding of the human psyche and I love that.

I would really like to read a lot more of the books in this genre. Of course, I am going to go through the list of recommendations in that video but if you know about some amazing post-apocalyptic or apocalyptic books, please let me know! I would love to read them. Thank you so much for reading this! Please comment if you like to read books of this genre and if you do not, why. Until next time then.

Fin!

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

