Book Discussion: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.

This is going to be an incoherent post. So, be warned! It may also include extreme fangirling over Rhys. But really, what was this book? How does Sarah J. Maas manage to improve with each and every book? Now, I haven’t read the Throne of Glass series yet, except the first book. But this series is already becoming one of my all time favourite! I loved the first book A Court of Thorns and Roses, and I didn’t know how she could improve upon it. But somehow, she did! This book is even more amazing than the first one! So, if you haven’t read it yet, what are you doing? Read it, read it, read it!

Goodreads Synopsis:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

I already had high expectations for this book. And it exceeded it. It gave me what I wanted and so much more. I read the first book immediately when it came out, so it’s been a long time since I’ve ventured into this world. And maybe because of that, I forgot how amazing the world building is. And I think I forgot how much I loved Rhys. Either that or he has become even more amazing in this book. Which is completely believable because Rhys is awesome! The countless twists and turns that this story took always kept me interested. There is not a single dull moment in this book. And it is very hard to put it down once you start reading it. There is one point towards the middle that is comparatively slow, but you’ll not find it hard to get through. I finished this book in 2 days. That speaks a lot for its addictive nature.

Some new characters are introduced to the story. In fact, a whole new court is introduced to the story. And each and everything is extraordinary. I think I forgot how much sex there were in these books. And if I may have one more complaint, I would say that I didn’t like the many, many graphic sex scenes that there are in this book. Sometimes, it didn’t feel right. But those are my only complaints about the book. I grew to love Feyre much more in this than I had before. And I liked Tamlin a lot less in this, a LOT. You’ll know why once you read the book. This story broke my heart and pieced it back together again and again. I got all the feels and I loved it.

I can’t believe that I have to wait another year before I get to read the last book in this trilogy. But there are going to be many re-reads of these two books for me. Especially for some special parts.;) I also felt like this book drew inspirations from popular series like the Hunger Games, the Vampire Academy and Twilight, and fused them together in the best possible way. That’s all I have to say about this book. Please go read ACOTAR if you haven’t read it yet and then read this book. I would love it if you do. Thank you so much for reading this! Please comment if you have already read this book and you are ready to fangirl over it like me! Thank you again. Until next time then.

Fin!

My rating- 5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 5/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

