Book Discussion: All The Rage by Courtney Summers.

I get the irony of the situation. After I protested against reading any YA contemporary book anytime soon, I’m still here talking about another book of the same genre. But this one is very different from the ones that I’ve been reading and I wanted to read this book so that I could know if this is worth recommending. Now I have read it and I have to recommend this to everyone! Despite its faults, I think this story deserves to be read at least once. It is dark, gritty and terrible, but in a good way. We all need to read stories like this. We just do.

Goodreads Synopsis:

The sheriff’s son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, the truth about him has cost her everything—friends, family, and her community. Branded a liar and bullied relentlessly by a group of kids she used to hang out with, Romy’s only refuge is the diner where she works outside of town. No one knows her name or her past there; she can finally be anonymous. But when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing after a party, and news of him assaulting another girl in a town close by gets out, Romy must decide whether she wants to fight or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t speak up. Nobody believed her the first time—and they certainly won’t now — but the cost of her silence might be more than she can bear.

With a shocking conclusion and writing that will absolutely knock you out, All the Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women after an act of sexual violence, forcing us to ask ourselves: In a culture that refuses to protect its young girls, how can they survive?

The first thing that hits you when you start reading this book is the writing style. The writing flows very well but it also stops you from speed-reading this book. You need to take your time while reading it and as you get towards the middle of the book, it becomes harder to read. Not because it’s boring, but because the situation is too important for you to just skim through it. You need to pay attention and you need to take each and every word in. This story was incredibly hard for me to read. And I must admit that I broke down crying at least twice while reading this. The sheer humiliation and pain of the protagonist is enough to leave you gasping for air.

I don’t really know how to describe my feelings after reading this story. The protagonist is obviously very brave. But the society that she lived in terrified me. It terrified me how it is just a contemporary and so many girls around the world face this each and every day. I would have much preferred it to be a fantasy so that I didn’t have to think about it so much. It is hard to believe that the story the book tells us could easily have been true. It’s hard to deal with that knowledge. This story makes you think a lot. The biggest thing that I took away from it is not Remy’s story but how long we still have to go to achieve equality. Not just of gender, but of race, of sexuality and of many other things. I may not remember this story at all after a few years, but I will remember the way it made me feel.

Anyway, if I had to talk about things strictly based on the book, I would say that it is beautiful. The characters probably won’t stick with me but the story remains relevant for the way it made me think. A lot of the times I was incredibly frustrated and I hated every bad character in this book with passion. It may not be the best book about the subject it focuses on, but it initiates a lot of deep feelings within the reader. Because the story is not that memorable, I couldn’t give it 5 stars.

That’s all I have to say about this book. Have you read it yet? If not, I would encourage you to read it. And if you have, please tell me what it made you feel in the comments. Again, thank you so much for reading this! Until next time then.

Fin!

My rating- 3.5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

