Book Discussion: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare.

In this last book of The Mortal Instruments series, I got a lot of closure. Closure I wanted and needed. But I needed much more. I wanted a lot more from this book. I said in my last post that I have high expectations from this book. Not only because of the amazing reviews this book has, but also because of the way Cassandra Clare ended Clockwork Princess, which was phenomenal. But I am also oddly satisfied with this book. It’s safe to say that I have a lot of mixed feelings about this.

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

Let’s start with the things I loved about this book. First of all, I loved the way things wrapped up at the end. I loved the things that this book made me feel. I loved all the twists and turns that this story took and as usual I loved the characters. The deaths hit me hard and even though I cried, I loved it at the same time. The thing that happened to Simon just broke me. I didn’t expect that anything could be all right again but in the end, it did! And I was extremely happy and satisfied when I finished it. And I know that I will miss the characters too much now. I may even give this whole series a re-read. I also loved the action of this book as much as I’ve loved the action in any other book written by Cassandra Clare. I also loved how Tessa showed up at the end and Jem was so involved with the characters of this series and also with Emma and Julian. I hope that I’ll get to see more of them in The Dark Artifices trilogy.

But let’s talk about the negatives now. Because this book is so huge, I expected more of everything. I expected more. Maybe because my expectations were so high, I felt a little let down with the first part of the book. There could have been so many more adventures. There could have been more twists in the story. Am I the only one who thought that the scope of the story could have been utilized a little bit more and made more epic? I hope not! Anyway, I also felt like there was no need for Sebastian (or Jonathan) to have a last conversation as a good person. I wanted him to be evil and stay evil without any need of human qualities in him. Also, I thought that there should have been more deaths. Don’t hate me for saying this. I don’t want any of my favourite characters to die and all the main characters are my favourite characters. But I think a few more deaths would have spiced things up a little more. But then, I also would have complained if she had killed more people, so this opinion of mine clearly couldn’t be trusted.

So, that’s all I have to say about this book. All in all, I loved it despite its weaknesses. Also, I think that the faeries are going to have a big role in creating the villain of The Dark Artifices trilogy. Or they are going to be the villains. Because this was being hinted at heavily in this book. But I also may be wrong. I also think that Emma and Julian may fall in love and they being parabatai will play a large part in The Dark Artifices. But these are all speculations. I will read it soon and find out everything about it. Please comment if you agree or disagree with me on my opinions about this book. Thank you so much for reading it. Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 4.5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 5/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

