Book Discussion: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare.

The first thing that I want to do is apologize for going MIA for so long. I was actually really busy for the last two weeks. So much so that I didn’t have time to read any book let alone write about it. But today, I finally finished the fifth book in The Mortal Instruments series. And if I had to describe this book in a sentence, I would say that this is the coolest book of the lot. Now, you might thing that this is a strange way to describe the book. But you’ll know why I said it soon! Just read on.

Goodreads Synopsis:

The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments continues—and so do the thrills and danger for Jace, Clary, and Simon.

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

The first thing that I want to talk about is Sebastian. If you have read my other book discussions of this series, you’ll know that I’ve always been on the fence about Valentine. I never knew how I regarded him as a villain. But I just love Sebastian. I love him as a villain. He is evil through and through and that’s incredibly exciting for me. He makes this book the coolest! The way he acts around everyone and the way he manipulates and deceives everyone in this book is how I want my villains to be like. After finishing this book, I felt like I am so ready for the epicness of everything in City of Heavenly Fire. And if book reviews are something to go by, I know that I’ll not be disappointed.

I had a weird love-hate relationship with Jace and Clary in this book. There were moments when I absolutely couldn’t stand them at all. I couldn’t stand for their “We belong together” and “We always protect each other” philosophy to justify their wrong decisions. I was so over them in this book that it surprised me. But then, they did manage to redeem themselves towards the end of the book. I am sorry Jace and Clary shippers, I am really sorry.

There was a lot of romance in this book. And I guess this is because Cassandra Clare is gearing up to break our hearts in the next book by giving us all the feels in this one. I am so ready to get my heart broken. We saw so much of Sizzy in this book and I loved how their relationship is slowly strengthening and developing. They don’t feel too cheesy and I love how Simon told Izzy the entire plot of the first Star Wars movie and Izzy listened so attentively that she remembered it till every last detail. There was Maya and Jordan. They were also really cute and I loved them. And then there was Magnus and Alec. After what happened at the end of the book, I don’t even want to talk about them. I said I wanted more of them in all my previous book discussions, but not like this! I wanted to see more of them together! I wanted to see them being romantic and gooey! And what did I get? I don’t even want to think about it. I do hope I see them together in the last book or I wouldn’t know what to do with my heart.

Okay. That’s all. I know I didn’t speak about the major events of this book. But the climax was obviously, incredibly cool. I loved it! Also, I loved the little hints Cassandra Clare was dropping about the characters from The Infernal Devices trilogy! The only negative thing that I could find about this book is that it was really slow at the beginning. And in some places, I did find myself not caring about what was happening. But it all worked out at the end. And that’s all that matters. Please comment and tell me what you think about this book! Thank you so much for reading this! I hope you liked it! Until next time then.

Fin!

My rating- 4.25/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

