Book Discussion: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare.

After finishing this book, I can safely say that Cassandra Clare has become one of my favourite writers ever. She never disappoints. This was the best book yet that I’ve read in this series. Clockwork Princess, of course, is my favourite book of hers. But this occupies a close second place. I absolutely loved this book. This was the most gripping book yet and I finished it in just two days. Since it’s more than 500 pages, I would say it speaks a lot of the addictive quality of these books.

Goodreads Synopsis:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.

First of all, I found it quite strange how all the arcs came together in this book and everything was resolved. Actually, I found it a little confusing. What about the other three books in this series? Who will be the villain in them? I hope its not someone whose body could not be found, if you know what I mean. I haven’t yet read the synopsis of City of Fallen Angels so that I can write this discussion without any notion of what’s going to come next. But this one felt so much like a finale that I was often weirded out. With each and every book, Cassandra Clare is increasing the epicness of her books. I can’t help but wonder what epic battles she has in store for me in the next book. Or maybe it will just be a simple battle like that in City of Bones. Either way, I won’t mind.

The characters have become such an integral part of me now that I am pretty sure I will read a whole book where they just interact with each other. Which means that I am probably going to read lots of fanfictions about them after I end all these books. Yes, I am one of those weird fans and I am not ashamed. You can’t judge me! Anyway, I have fallen in love with each and everyone of them. So, I must say that I loved Max so much. I would have loved to read about him a little more. I was so impressed with everyone in this book. I feel like I would love to see more of Isabelle. And Alec and Magnus. Together. I would love to see all these characters just relaxing and bantering. But that’s probably not going to happen. Well, a girl can hope!

The thing that I wanted to talk about most is Valentine. I didn’t really hate him. I couldn’t! He was so sure that what he did was right. I don’t know how to hate someone like that. Even though he was an amazing villain. Till the last moment, he was incredibly interesting and I was eager to know what his actions are going to be next. And I must say, that ending was totally unexpected. I never actually expected Raziel to come. I thought there was going to be a different sort of ending. I loved that big epilogue that we got and even though the peace is bound to be short-lived, it felt good to enjoy it for a few pages.

So, that’s all I have to say about this book. Thank you so much for reading it! Please comment how much you liked this book if at all! I would love to talk about it with someone. Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 4.75/5.

My Goodreads rating- 5/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

