Book Discussion: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare.

The only reaction I could muster after reading this book is why? There are so many questions that can be asked with that word. But the questions I want to ask are not the ones concerning important events that might take place in the Shadowhunter world. But the questions mostly revolve around why Cassandra Clare is making her readers suffer like this with anger and frustration. But then again, I can’t say that I mind.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

I don’t even know where to start. So many things happen in this book! Okay I want to start with something I said in my previous post. I said that Jace shines in City of Bones and it feels like everyone is revolving around him. Characters like Alec and Izzie feel minor. I am taking my statement back. I feel like this book managed to make all the other characters important enough that they all shine. They get their own parts in the book and it feels like all of them are the heroes of their own stories. And I rooted for each and everyone of them.

Something major happens in Simon’s life in this book. I was already expecting that because I was spoiled by the trailer to the show. Yes, the trailer. For those of you who have read the book, you know what I am talking about! And I loved Simon in this book even though sometimes he really annoyed me. I feel like he grew a lot in this book as a person. I love how Jace and Simon finally made their peace. What Jace did for him, it was amazing! Let’s talk about Magnus and Alec too for a sec, shall we? I totally ship them together. I loved how they took care of each other when needed and even though it wasn’t addressed that much in the book, I totally root for them. I look forward to reading more about them in the future. Jace and Clary were stuck in a totally awkward position throughout the book and I felt nothing for them except frustration.

I haven’t talked about Valentine at all. So, I think that I don’t really hate Valentine. Yet. He did so many horrible things to these characters that he almost feels invincible. When I read the scenes on the ship towards the end of this book, I totally thought that this is the end and everyone is going to die. Of course I knew that they won’t, but I feared for them anyway. He has such an interesting personality that I love reading about him. I love it when other characters like Luke and Maryse talk about him because it helps me piece together his personality. I am yet to find any weakness in him and that is terrifying as well as so interesting! I always feel like I am waiting for what he is going to do next, in a good way.

So, that’s all my feelings about this book. Of course, this book too has lots of humourous dialogues and witty and sarcastic comebacks. This keeps these books interesting even when nothing important is really happening. And I love that! Also, WHAT IS THE ENDING? I am going to start the next book right now! That’s all for today! Thank you so much for reading this. Please comment your feelings about this book! Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 4/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

