Book Discussion: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.

This book is one of the best finales to a series that I’ve ever read. I have never expected this one to trigger so many emotions as it did. Usually, I am very emotionally detached from the characters in a fantasy series. Except series like Hunger Games and Lunar Chronicles where you can’t not be emotionally attached. This series have joined them in my heart. I’m pretty sure that I will remember this for a long time.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

This story broke my heart and shattered it into a million pieces. I thought that the last one was heartbreaking. I didn’t even guess what was coming and I couldn’t imagine what it would do to my heart. When the book ended, I didn’t know whether I was happy or sad. Is it possible to be extremely happy and yet extremely sad at the same time? If it is, then that was what I felt. There are going to be SPOILERS AHEAD.

The book starts with Tessa engaged to be married to Jem. And we soon find out that the Magister has bought all the drugs that Jem need to survive and asked for Tessa in exchange of medicine. I will be honest, I thought Tessa would go off to the Magister on her own and demand for the drugs. But I am so glad that she didn’t. But then he succeeds in kidnapping Tessa through Mrs. Dark. And finally, all the secrets about Tessa’s past are revealed. When he revealed why he wanted to marry Tessa, I immediately knew that couldn’t be it. Something greater was about to come and sure it did. But I underestimated the severity of the situation. And then there was the Consul. He was so damn frustrating throughout the whole book! I don’t think that even the Magister frustrated me as much as the Consul. I didn’t want him to die as he did though. I wanted him to see how everyone goes against him and supports Charlotte. But that didn’t happen. The whole action part of the book was amazing! It was written and described so well that it almost felt like a movie. I don’t think I have mentioned this before but I just love Cassandra Clare’s writing. I can see why she has so many dedicated fans. And the end of the fight, the way Magister died, I couldn’t have imagined it in my wildest dreams! I loved it.

Now, let me speak about the heartbreaks. How did Cassandra Clare manage to write such a wonderful ending? I loved Will and Jem with all my heart. But maybe I loved Will a little bit more. And when I read about his death, I bawled like a baby. But that doesn’t mean I begrudged Tessa for wanting to be with Jem! I loved the ending. I always hate the characters who are left behind as the third wheel and their story is never completed. But this story did come a full circle. Cassandra Clare gave me everything I wanted and also things I didn’t know I wanted. It’s amazing how she wrapped up the story. I laughed and cried at the same time all through the ending. There was great satisfaction in my heart when I finally put down the book.

So, that’s all my thoughts on this series. I will probably start the Mortal Instruments soon and I go in with high expectations. I loved this series so much and it will remain as my favourite series forever. What did you think about this book? Please tell me in the comments! Thank you so much for reading this! Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 5/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

