Book Discussion: Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare.

I read the first book in this series last year. I wasn’t in much of a hurry to continue this series after that book. I liked it but I didn’t love it. Since Shadowhunters started, I wanted to continue this series so that I can get to The Mortal Instruments series. So, I picked this book up and I can safely say that I was blown away! I loved it!

Goodreads Synopsis:

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will – the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do? As their dangerous search for the for the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa’s heart is increasingly torn, especially when one of their own betrays them…

I didn’t know what I was getting into when I started this book. I was overwhelmed by my own emotions and I cried so much! A lot of you have already read this book and you know what I am talking about. How can a love triangle be this devastating? I have always mocked them and favoured one person to another. But I can’t decide if I love Jem more or Will! I don’t know how I will react when Tessa ultimately chooses one over the other. The love these three have for each other is infinite and I hate it! I mean I love it but I also hate it because its tearing apart my heart. If you think I am being over-dramatic, trust me, that’s not the case. I was literally face palming since the moment Tessa started engaging with both of them without Jem and Will knowing about the other person’s feelings. Okay, I’m ranting. Let me talk about each person separately.

I like Tessa a lot. Her actions are very understandable and her decisions are reasonable. She cares about everyone in the Institute and her concerns show because she is not always thinking about Jem and Will unlike protagonists of many other books. The thing I like about the characters in this series is that they are multi-faceted. We get to see Jem’s anger too and other parts of his character. But I do think what Will and Tess decide to do at the end will ultimately hurt Jem more when he finds out. And Jem is going to have his heart broken. We also get to see more of Will’s backstory and why he behaves the way he does. I fell in love with Will in this book and I finally understand why everyone who read this series loved him, which I didn’t get when I read Clockwork Angel.

Charlotte and Henry also open their hearts in this book and I loved it. All the characters in this series are so endearing. They care for each other so much and I love it. I can even understand why Jessamine acted that way. I can understand her motivations. I loved Sophie’s plot-line here. In short, I loved each and every thing in this book.

So, that’s all I have to say even though I have a lot of feelings that I can’t express. Apart from being everything I described it to be, its also incredibly gripping. It sucks you in and doesn’t let you go. I don’t think I need to recommend it to anyone as everyone already knows about this. But if you didn’t, please go give it a try. I found it to be amazing! Please comment what you liked most about this book. Thank you so much for reading this! Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 5/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

