Bookish Rant: Book Adaptations of YA.

never-judge-a-book-by-its-movie

Today I’m going to talk about something that have been in my mind for a long time. I should mention at the very beginning that this is not about any particular book adaptation but everything in general. Also, this is only about YA books that are being adapted. But I will give a few examples. I am going to talk about what I feel about them. If you agree or disagree with anything I say in this post, please tell it to me in the comments. I want to know what you think about it.

There are book to movie adaptations and book to TV adaptations being done left and right nowadays. Its amazing to see something that you imagined for yourself come to life for everyone to see. There are both good and bad sides to this for me. The good sides are the obvious ones. More people are coming to know about the story and as a result, more people are reading the books. You are witnessing your imaginations coming to life. There is also a downside to this for me. When an adaptation is done, everything about it gets stuck in my head. It doesn’t matter if I liked the movie/TV show or hated it, if I liked the cast or didn’t care about them, I always picture them when I re-read the book. But let’s not be negative here. It works in my favour if I like the adaptation.

The biggest problem that I have with adaptations nowadays is that they inforce the stereotypes associated with a particular genre. For example- the “love-triangle” trope in movies. Ever since Twilight was done, where love-triangle was a really important part of the story, it suddenly became a trope that have to be there in other adaptations. Whether it’s important for the story or not. Oh it’s a teen movie? We have to have a love triangle with two very handsome actors in it. Otherwise, how are we going to convince the young girls to come watch the movie? Well, how about the story! I am talking to you, dystopian movies.

Also, most of the YA adaptations nowadays do not even take themselves seriously, It almost feels like they are intentionally making fun of themselves. I feel like they are not taking the amazing materials they have at hand seriously. I am looking at you, Shadowhunters! Okay, I have never read the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I am reading The Infernal Devices by her and only when I finish them do I plan on reading this series. But, judging by the fanbase the books have, I am assuming that they are pretty awesome. But I don’t like the TV series. The show looks like a joke. I know that I am being pretty harsh considering that there are only three episodes out right now, but if they don’t improve soon, they are going to lose me as a viewer. It looks like they are making fun of themselves and of the material. And I hate that.

The movie/TV show often loses the quirks that they had before which separated them from other books of the same genre. The adaptations take the familiar tropes to that certain genre and exaggerate them to such a degree that all adaptations of that genre start to look the same. The Hunger Games and the Divergent series are similar only when you look at those stories from as far as you can. But I have often heard from the people who have only watched the movies that “they are all the same”.

There are lots more to say. But these are the things that I thought were more important. I have talked about the bad things in YA adaptations a lot! But that does not mean that I don’t want YA literature to be adapted. There are amazing adaptations out there. The Fault In Our Stars, Harry Potter, the Hunger Games- these have movies I absolutely adore and can see any day. I love the excitement surrounding any adaptation and I love how it encourages more and more people to read the books for generations to come. I just want some to be made a little better. That’s all. Please tell me what you think about adaptations of YA literature. Thank you so much for reading this! Until next time then!

Fin!

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Bookish Rant: Book Adaptations of YA.

  1. I agree with you – Harry Potter and the Hunger Games were superb adaptations. I have a theory as to why quite often YA adaptations are problematical – they often feature a single, strong protagonist with a chippy, individual first person viewpoint that can speak directly to the reader. The books that have successfully shifted to the screen are those with a lot of story (Hunger Games) or those with a cast of character, often in semi-omniscient viewpoint (Harry Potter). But if there is a single, first person viewpoint without a wide-ranging storyline, then there are generally problems…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

