Book Discussion: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

Before I say anything, I must mention that this is the first book that I’ve ever read by Alexandra Bracken. I have never read her The Darkest Minds trilogy even though I plan to do so in the near future. I had very high expectations going into this book. This one was so hyped up that I expected it to be amazing in the least. But sadly, even though it was really good, my expectations weren’t met. Maybe it was my fault that I expected too much from it, but I was a little disappointed in it anyway when I finished it.

Goodreads Synopsis-

passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever.

First of all, this book was pretty long. I saw that some people found it a little hard to get into but for me, that wasn’t the case. It pulled me in from the start. Like I mentioned before, I have never read anything by this author, and I found that her style of writing is very descriptive. She took great care in writing in a way that makes it easy for the readers to imagine and it almost felt like a movie. I could almost imagine what she was describing and that made it more engaging. Because of this, it was also a little slow sometimes. But I didn’t mind that at all.

Let’s talk about Etta. I liked her but I wasn’t in love with her. I didn’t really get her visions and I didn’t really understand her. I also couldn’t relate to her very well. I think this affected how I felt about the story a lot. I found Etta to be strong in some ways but also weak in so many other ways. I get it that it’s normal but she wasn’t the character I would root for if she wasn’t the protagonist. And I felt the same for Nicholas. He wasn’t amazing but he was good. He held his own and was a distinct character. Again, I couldn’t really understand him fully which was weird. I just really like to understand the characters that I am rooting for! It is uncomfortable for me otherwise. Sorry. 😦 Also, what is with the insta-love? Seriously! It was weird how incredibly close they became in such a short time! And I never thought that I would say this, but some lines were just too cheesy for me. I didn’t really trust Rose and I didn’t find her actions justifiable. On the other hand, I loved Alice. I thought her character was amazingly well-rounded as a mother figure to Etta. And despite everything Sophia did, I could appreciate her as well. I could see what she was trying to do and how she made her decisions, which was good.

Now, the thing about this story that I loved was some of the points the author tried to make about race and gender. We never really pay attention to how far we have come as a civilization. We only figure out the next thing to protest about for the betterment of the society. And I am not saying that we shouldn’t do that, I am just saying that we should also be grateful for the things we have achieved. And this book reminded me of that. To live in a world where you are judged on the basis of the colour of your skin or your gender is difficult to say the least and that is addressed very well in this book. And I loved the book for it.

That’s all I have to say for this book. I was also very disappointed with the ending because I wanted some kind of resolution which I didn’t get. But all said and done, I will be waiting for the last book in this duology because I want resolution dammit! I recommend this book to those who love books about time travel and who have loved Alexandra Bracken’s other books. This is not the best book out there but its definitely worth giving a shot. If the synopsis interests you, go read it! Please comment if you’ve read this book. Thank you so much for reading another post of mine! I really appreciate it. Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 3.75/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

Leave a Reply

