Book Discussion: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

If you think that I read too much contemporary, you might be right. I have to accept it now. I do read too much contemporary. And then I talk about it here. And then I force more and more people to read then. And NO! They are not all the same! Okay, I’m done. Let’s talk about the book now. Because I’m (literally) dying to!

Goodreads Synopsis-

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

kksinceubeengone

First of all, you did it again Morgan Matson! You did it! I loved Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour and I love this one. Time to move on to Second Chance Summer. This book started out as a normal contemporary. There was an awesome best friend. And then there was the friend left behind. There was a boy, some unlikely friendships and a few heartbreaks. There are all these tropes in the book but using only these to describe it would be redundant. It is so much more than that! The story is written in such a way that it feels so new and original!

The characters in this book are distinct. But I would not say that I liked all of them. Am I the only one who didn’t like Sloane? Please comment if you agree with me. I think that Sloane was irresponsible. She is an escapist who just loves to have an obliging sidekick to be by her and do her bids. I know I am being a bit harsh but I just didn’t like that girl! I didn’t like her anywhere. I didn’t like the concept of the lists, I didn’t like the flashbacks and I didn’t like her at the end. I know that because of that list we got Frank. And that’s the only reason I tolerated her, barely. I liked Collins a lot, though. I liked the little talks that he and Emily had. And his OTT jokes. Dawn was okay too.

And then there was Frank.

9733764.gif

He took a little getting used to. But once Emily started talking with him and opening up to him, it was just so amazing! But he was not the perfect person that Emily described him to be. I thought that he was very flawed and very imperfectly perfect. Can we just take some time to appreciate the scene in the rain guys? Can we? Because I think that scene is so overused and yet it never gets old.

Also, we should be talking about the list. I loved that the list pushed Emily to experience more. The character development that Emily went through is just beautiful! And the things that she proceeded to do because of the list is unimaginable. I mean, if you see how Emily acted with Frank at the Orchard and then when the story progressed, how she starts interacting with so many more people, it’s amazing. And she finally confronts her whats-his-name ex! But the best thing about it is that it didn’t feel rushed.

I don’t have much to say about this book except that it was refreshing and I really liked it. I would recommend it if you like contemporary. This just left me with so much happiness in my heart and I hope, when you read it, you feel it too!

9733765.gifAll in all, it was a really great book despite it’s flaws. But I don’t want to state the flaws and critically examine this book. I think it would lessen my enjoyment of it. Right now, let me bask in the happy glow the story has left me in. Thank you so much for reading this! I hope you liked it! Please comment about the book and we can start a discussion there. Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 3.75/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/10.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

