Book Discussion: The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North.

I bet that most of you haven’t read this book. This one here does not have much hype surrounding it as far as I know. I wouldn’t have found this book either if it hadn’t been for Regan from PeruseProject and thank god for that! This is one of the most unique books that I’ve ever read. This is the book for the second week of Around the World in 52 weeks Challenge. The theme was to read a book from a country other than yours. This book is situated mostly in America, Britain and Russia. So, it fits the theme perfectly. The concept is so unique that I can never even begin to describe what this book is about. So, let’s see the synopsis on Goodreads.

Goodreads Synopsis-

No matter what he does or the decisions he makes, when death comes, Harry always returns to where he began, a child with all the knowledge of a life he has already lived a dozen times before. Nothing ever changes.

Until now.

As Harry nears the end of his eleventh life, a little girl appears at his bedside. ‘I nearly missed you, Doctor August,’ she says. ‘I need to send a message.’

This is the story of what Harry does next, and what he did before, and how he tries to save a past he cannot change and a future he cannot allow.

I don’t even know where to start. I listened to this on audiobook and I would highly recommend it because the narrator is unbelievable. I was deeply engrossed in the story and I never felt like my mind was wandering which happens in case of most audiobooks. The writing is incredibly clever. You know that moment when an author puts stress on certain characters and events and you just know that those are going to play a large part in the story? It never happens here. You never know which character is going to play a bigger role than others. This keeps the mystery of the story and you never know what is going to happen. This story builds to an ending but that doesn’t make the parts before that less important. I never felt anywhere that this part could have been done away with. Each and every part in it is written for a reason. There are long, descriptive passages but they are never boring.

There are a lot of characters in this book. Sometimes, the smaller characters played a big role in the story too, without them knowing it. The story intertwines in such a beautiful way that I am always left in awe of the author. But Harry, the main character, is probably the most unique character I’ve ever read about. He is unexpected. Sometimes, he is selfish, sometimes, selfless. Sometimes, he is brave and caring and the other times, he couldn’t care less. And you can never guess which side of him you’re going to see but you root for him nonetheless. He is so flawed that he is perfect. And the antagonist of the story is another strange individual. I couldn’t hate him no matter how much I tried because Harry couldn’t fully hate him. He is weird and manic but some part of me still admired him.

There are a lot of complicated concepts in this book. When you start the story, I’m sure that you would be confused. I was very confused and wondered every minute where the story was going. I found this aspect of the book very interesting. But when I read some comments on Goodreads, I found out that many people couldn’t get through the first part of the book. If any of you have such difficulty going through it, I would suggest that you push through. Because I think that in the end, it’s going to be worth it.

So, that’s it for today. I recommend this book for its uniqueness. I know that I used this word a lot throughout this post but I couldn’t find any other adjective to describe this book! Anyway, I hope you liked this. Please comment if you’ve already read this book and how you found out about it. Thank you so much for reading! Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating-4.5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 5/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

