Book Discussion: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

This is the second book I’ve read this year, and I must say, it’s going pretty well. This one was so adorable and it filled me with so much happiness. Oh I have to mention something to you guys. I am participating in the Around the World in 52 Books challenge. This is basically a challenge where you have to read one book each week based on the themes they provide. For example, for the first week, the theme was to read a book that you wanted to read in 2015, but didn’t. This is the basic rule. But there are lots of other details that are in the Goodreads group. I will link the group here. I am not going to post much on the group, because I’m lazy. But I am going to try to do the challenge, ‘try’ being the keyword. And when I read a book for this challenge, I’ll try to review it immediately. This is my goal. I hope that it works out well. Fingers crossed! And for the theme of the first week, I chose this book. It has been sitting on my shelf since last year and I was finally able to pick it up. Let’s see how I felt about it!

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

This book started off okay. I was interested but not too interested. I was enjoying myself but it wasn’t all that special. Even at the start, I looked forward to the emails that Simon and Blue exchanged. But it was compelling. Every time I put it down, I immediately wanted to pick it back up.

The characters were really interesting but they weren’t always likable. I guess that’s okay, but I wanted some characters to be better in a way, if that makes sense. For example- I liked Leah and I could see her point of view most of the time, but I also found her annoying sometimes. I also had mixed feelings about Martin . Simon made his mind about Martin but I didn’t. In some ways, I really hated what he did. But I could also understand his actions. Abby was okay most of the time. But I guess I wanted a bit more well-rounded characters. I wanted them to stand out of the crowd and be a bit more unique in a way. Am I the only one who feels this way? I don’t know! Please comment if you feel the same way.

The other thing that I wasn’t very pleased about was the writing style. Sure, it was easy to read and flowed well. But it wasn’t all that special. I liked the story she wanted to tell, believe me, I did ! But the writing style put me off a little. I know that I am definitely the only one who thinks this way but I’m sorry! I just do!

Now that I have got all that out of the way, lets talk about Blue and the cutest romance. All the emails were just so sweet and cute and you probably already know that but its sweet and cute! I am just ranting here but I got my fangirl mode on and its hard to shut up. I definitely did not guess Blue to turn out to be the guy he did! But after it was revealed who Blue was, the book got even better. About halfway through the book, I was sold. But when Blue turned up and it somehow worked out, they were just adorable! I was smiling the whole way and I felt so happy! The book just made me so happy and is basically the reason why I gave it the rating I did. With all the criticisms you must have thought that I didn’t like the book, but I did! I liked the book A LOT!

So, that’s all for today! I obviously recommend this book if the premise sounded interesting to you. A lot of people just loved this book and raved about it and you should read this book if you love sweet contemporaries like I do. Please comment below about what you think of this book and how you felt while reading this book. It’s okay if you disagree with me on everything, I just want to know your opinions. Thank you for reading this. Until next time then!

Fin!

My rating- 3.75/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

