Book Traveling Thursday #9: Choose a book that features your favourite bookish family.

It’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays! This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. So, here goes!

This week’s theme is to choose a book that features your favourite bookish family. Because family matters. For this theme, the most obvious choice was probably Harry Potter for me. Because which family can be as amazing as the Weasley’s right? But, I chose another family instead. I chose the Hall family from If I Stay by Gayle Forman. Family plays a very important part in this book and we get to see a lot of them. By the time the book ended, I fell in love with Mia’s family. They are kind and supportive and loving and amazing in all sorts of ways. They make me want to be a part of their family. And so, I think they are the most fitting choice for this week.

Original Cover:

4374400I really don’t like this cover. I don’t know why the publishers chose this cover but it’s not very attractive, is it? It’s not really good either! I don’t like it.

Cover from my country(India):

6990472 If I stay 1

The right one is obviously the movie cover and I like it. But the left one is, again, unattractive ad unrelated and weird. Also, I have a problem with the blurb on the cover. Why would this book appeal to the fans of Twilight? It’s not that I have a problem with Twilight because I have once loved Twilight with passion and I still respect it. But, I don’t find any similarities between this book and Twilight. That’s all. I prefer the movie cover to the original cover of the book.

Favourite Cover:

if i stay 3 if i stay 4

There were many beautiful covers for this book. But these are the covers that I thought captured the themes of the story and are also very beautiful. The left one is the Hungarian cover and the right one is Indonesian. I loved both of them!

Least Favourite Cover:

Wenn ich bleibe von Gayle Forman

This German cover gives the impression that this is a sweet, summery contemporary where the book is anything but that. This cover gives a wrong impression of this book which I think is offensive. The cover, obviously, in no way relates to the story. This is why I chose this cover as my least favourite.

So, here it is! I must also mention that I love this book and I highly, highly recommend it to those who haven’t already read it. If you have read this book, tell me what you think about it in the comments. Also, comment about the covers of this book. I know we haven’t been very active nowadays. It is because the end-sem exams are coming up and all of us have been catching up on our studies. This is also curbing our reading time. But, we will still try to put out as many posts as we can. Well, that’s all for today! Until next time, then.

Fin!

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #9: Choose a book that features your favourite bookish family.

Leave a Reply

