BOOK TRAVELLING THURSDAY #8: CHOOSE A BOOK THAT SCARED YOU.

It’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays! This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. So, here goes!

As Halloween is just a couple more days away, this week’s theme is to choose a book that genuinely scared the reader. I have chosen the book “Not Without My Daughter” by Betty Mahmoody. Despite its mixed reviews and criticisms of alleged misrepresentation of Muslim Iranians and of their culture, I would choose this book for this week’s theme. Those of you who have read it would understand what I mean when I say I got shit-scared reading about the behavior meted out to women, with no fear of getting punished for domestic violence whatsoever. Betty refutes multiple times in her book that she is propagating a negative stereotype of Iranians, and also maintains that not all women were mistreated by their husbands. On the whole, I found this to be a very engaging book, and I would recommend it strongly.

Original Cover:

Cover72

This is the original cover of the book. And I like it but not that much really. It definitely highlights the plot, but I don’t feel it’s that good a book cover.

Cover from my country(India):

43255

I like this book cover because of the crease between the eyebrows, and the eyes that look annoyed and of a I-am-not-gonna-tolerate-this-shit-anymore kind.

Favourite Cover:

183706-M

This is a film version cover. This picture really touched my heart; I like the mother’s concern over her child in this picture, as it is the main theme of the book.

Least Favourite Cover:

5264681-M

Somehow the Spanish cover was not appealing to me. I get the child’s expression, but it doesn’t make a good book cover, not to me.

There, I have put forward a book that had scared me pretty much, thinking about what I would have been able to do if I was in Betty’s position. Please comment what you think of it if you’ve read the book. Also, comment what you think about the covers. Those of you who haven’t read it, please do put it on your to-read list in the immediate future. This book is amazing and unputdownable.

Fin!

-Bhaswati.

2 thoughts on “BOOK TRAVELLING THURSDAY #8: CHOOSE A BOOK THAT SCARED YOU.

Leave a Reply

