Book Discussion: My Life Next Door & The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick.

1229465218392495

So today I am going to be discussing these two sweet contemporaries that got me out of my terrible reading slump. Now, don’t think that they are part of a series! They are not. They are just related in the way Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After are related. There are some characters that are introduced in My Life Next Door who become protagonists in The Boy Most Likely To. So, you don’t have to read one to read the other. But, I am not doing independent book discussions for each of them because I don’t have that much to say about the individual books. Both the books have sort of the same themes and so I decided to merge both discussions into one. Let’s see how it goes!

Now, adding the synopsis of both books would make this post very long, I would just link the Goodreads pages of them in my post. For My Life Next Door click here and for The Boy Most Likely To click here.

Let me first state that these books were really, really good! They were just what I needed to get over my reading slump and they made me happy. So, I must give these books some extra credit for that. At a time when the only books I felt like reading were either Harry Potter or TFIOS, they became my dearest friend and coaxed me slowly back into reading. The first thing that you notice about these books is these amazing relationships that the characters have with each other. Though they are sometimes complex, they were always clear about what they meant to each other. If I had to complain about something, it would be that both the relation between Jase and Sam and the relationship between Tim and Alice felt a little like insta-love to me. But, as I progressed into the story, I began to accept it as the characters felt like they were meant to be together. The family aspect of the story was just beautiful! Or, should I say, the Garretts were beautiful? Either way, it would be true.

The real problem that I had with these two books was something else. On one hand, I liked Jase and Sam as individuals, but, I couldn’t really feel for them as individual characters. On the other hand, I didn’t really feel for Tim and Alice as a couple, but, I loved Tim! Tim for me, was that stereotypical broken boy, who grows a lot through the story. When I think of a character like Tim, I hold Adrian from the Vampire Academy series as the base for measuring similar characters (#TeamAdrian). Tim was a really good character, but he didn’t have that edge that made him different from a pool of similar characters. But, he was just endearing enough, to make me love him. His development through the story was immense, and I loved it. I was very, very detached to Alice the whole time and didn’t really care for her as a character. There is, obviously, a lot of twists and turns to both the books, like any other contemporary story. But I have to commend the author for dealing with issues like teenage pregnancy and addiction. Though some parts about the issues were trivialized (I think), she raised the issues and that’s great!

So, that is all for today. I must end this by saying that if you like cute contemporaries, this is great for you, but if you are looking for some meaningful contemporary, this is not. If it suits your taste, I totally recommend it. I may not be in love with them, but I really like them. And if I had to read them again, I probably would. So, I guess that tells a lot! Anyway, have a great day and I will have another post up soon! Until next time then.

Fin!

My rating- 3.5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

