Book Traveling Thursday #6: Choose a book that got made into a movie you actually enjoyed.

It’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays! This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. So, here goes!

Generally, movie adaptations of my favourite books get a OH-DEAR-GOD-PLEASE-SAVE-ME-FROM-SUCH-A-CALAMITY from my side but The Perks Of Being A Wallflower became an exception. I adored this book and now I ship its movie adaptation as well. The book talks about Charlie and how he would go through some life-altering experiences. This book will definitely make adults nostalgic and teenagers feel “It’s okay! Adolescence is weird, my friend!” It took me a long, long time to finally gather the courage to watch this movie as I thought it would spoil the mood that the book had left me with. Well, I was WRONG! Who can be more perfect than Logan Lerman, as Charlie! He did a brilliant job in capturing the life of a loner, who was intelligent beyond his years and an unconventional thinker. Charlie could be that kid from your or my school whom we often ignore. He was that guy who like any of us craved love and true friendships. He was that guy whose shabby past and baffling adolescent years almost made him a social outcast till he befriended Sam and Patrick. Logan made Charlie all the more relatable. Emma Watson totally rocked the role of perky, empathetic Sam. Ah, well! Emma is Emma after all. I fell head over heels for Ezra Miller(Patrick). He was just so PERFECT. And he is so HOT! I LOVE him. Anyway, enough with my narcissism. Let’s move on. I had a special place in my heart for Paul Rudd from his FRIENDS days. He was outstanding as Mr. Anderson. I just wish Mr. Andersons rule high schools from now on.

Original Cover:

perk up This cover uncannily reminded me of autumn. I feel the color yellow is quite synonymous to autumn (leaves-turning-yellow-during-autumn kind of way). Autumn announces, “Winter is coming.”(in a good way though). It is the harbinger of the good old Chrismassy days- the season of gifts and merriment which we all look forward to. Sam and Patrick were just like winter bringing the much-awaited Christmas in Charlie’s life.

Covers from my country(India):

perk 2 perks 3 The bright shades of blue and black in the first cover intensifies the enthralling factor of this book. I love the movie cover. Ezra Miller looks so good. I want to cuddle Logan. He has a babyish innocence in this picture. And look at Emma! How can anyone be so beautiful!

Favorite Cover:

perks 4 This cover looks so perfect. It has deftly hinted at what the novel is all about. I will not be able to explain why I am so obsessed with this particular cover. All I can say is I LOVE this cover.

Least Favorite Cover:

838285 According to me, this is the shittiest cover. I am not really judgemental about covers but I could not help it this time. No offence but this is crappy!

So here it goes. I will really like to know how you felt about my post. I hope not to disappoint you. Please share your opinions with me in the comments section. Until next time then.

Fin!

-Debanjana

3 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #6: Choose a book that got made into a movie you actually enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

