Book Traveling Thursday #5- Choose a book that made you smile.

It’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays! This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. So, here goes!

October 2nd is World Smile Day! So, to celebrate it, I am going to choose a book that made me smile. Usually sweet contemporaries are the ones that make me smile. But occasionally, books from other genres do too! The book that I’m going to choose is Paper Towns by John Green. I haven’t even begun to show my love for John Green and how obsessed I am with this man and his works. I’ve read The Fault In Our Stars, Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns by him, and I loved them to bits. I don’t know why I haven’t already read the rest of his books. The shame and regret is real guys! Anyway, back to writing about Paper Towns. I experienced a wide range of emotions while reading this one, just like any John Green book. I smiled, I laughed and I cried. But I think I had a smile on my face for most part of the book. Q, Ben and Radar never failed to crack me up. I am going to now try to move on because I’m sure you guys don’t want me to ramble on about how much I love Ben Sterling and what I love about Ben Starling and how funny Ben Starling is and how cute Ben Starling is and…. OKAY! Moving on! Here are the covers.

Original Cover:

2914097So, this is the original cover. To be honest, it’s a little boring. I really don’t like the faces of people in covers and I don’t know if this is supposed to be Margo but the cover doesn’t really bring out any aspect of the story. I guess I’m kind of like meh about this cover.

Covers from my country (India):

18690890 23591078 I really like both of these covers. The first cover is really, really good! It captured a major theme of the story. If you have read the book, I assume you know what I am talking about. And as for the second cover, it’s the movie cover and because I loved the poster for the movie, and because I may be unabashedly biased, I love it!

Favourite Covers:

650_NT94284.jpg 25216350 Okay. Now you know. I have a weird obsession with the colour black. In a very weird way, these two covers appeal to me a lot! Also, both the covers have caught a recurring theme of the book very well. I just love them. And I can’t explain it. Sorry! 😛

Least Favourite Cover:

23265659This is the Russian cover of Paper Towns. Really publishers, really? You’ve got to be kidding me! I can’t find a single thing that is actually even okay about this cover! I would have never bought this book if this had been the cover here. This won’t look good anywhere and it doesn’t present the book in a way that’s even remotely appealing!

So, this is it for now! This Sunday, there will be a new book discussion written by Debanjana. I hope you enjoyed this post. Please comment what you think about the covers. Please comment if you love John Green like I do and we can fangirl together! Please comment because it encourages us each and every day to write more quality posts! Until next time then.

Fin!

-Sanchita.

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #5- Choose a book that made you smile.

  1. The worst thing about the Russian one is the font. It makes it look terrible and slapped together. I don’t know much about what makes Russian look nice, but I’ve seen way better Russian covers with writing that doesn’t look so very basic. Yikes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

