Book Traveling Thursday #4: A book that brings you “fall feels”.

It’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays! This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. So, here goes!

This week’s theme is to choose a book that brings me the nostalgic “fall” feels. And because fall precedes winter, which is the only time we get some break from the heat here in India, it makes me very happy! At this time of the year, I love to read books from genres like mystery or thriller. So, the book I’m going to choose for this theme is Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. The creepiness of this book is something I enjoy a lot! I love screwed-up characters and Nick and Amy are the most screwed-up characters that I’ve ever read about. So, this book seems like the perfect choice to me!

Original Cover:

isbn9780753827666This cover is really pretty and I really like it! There’s not much to the cover but somehow, this cover looks really cool, even though it’s not the best cover out there.

Covers from my country (India):

21480930 23290223These are the covers from my country. The orange cover is same as the original one. But I would prefer to have the black cover because all the other Gillian Flynn books have covers with black backgrounds. This copy of Gone Girl looks very odd next to my copies of Dark Places and Sharp Objects. I just like my books to match, is that too much to ask for publishers? Apparently, yes! 😦

The other cover is, of course, the movie version. But the original is always so much better! Sorry! 😛

Favourite Cover:

13617471 23453787 I really liked these covers. The blue one is Indonesian and the other one is Dutch. The Dutch cover is so beautiful that I had to choose it. Though it doesn’t quite relate to the story, and generally I don’t like people’s faces on covers, I had to choose it because of it’s sheer beauty! The blue one, however, captures the moods of the story and represents it well. I loved them both!

Least Favourite Cover:

17697576This cover is weird! The girl on the cover looks straight out of a horror movie and the cover as a whole is unattractive. This is a Macedonian cover. And I thought that this was the worst cover that I could find.

So, here it is! A book that brings me “fall feels”. Tell me what you think about Gone Girl and about it’s covers! Also, comment on the book that brings you your fall feels! Until next time then.

Fin!

-Sanchita.

6 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #4: A book that brings you “fall feels”.

Leave a Reply

