Book Discussion: Every Day by David Levithan.

13262783This is the first book of David Levithan that I have read. I first heard about David Levithan when he co-wrote Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green. Since then, I’ve been wanting to check out his books and I found the premise of this book to be quite interesting. I’m glad I picked this up because I really liked it!

Goodreads Synopsis-

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

I didn’t know what to expect while going into this book. As you have possibly noticed, I am really in the mood for contemporary books, and I am reading them non-stop. This, however, is a little bit different. This story had some sci-fi elements weaved into it and that made it more interesting for me to start. From the moment I started to read this book, I knew I was going to remember this book for its writing style. If the story didn’t reach me, the words did. David Levithan has such a great writing style! It flows so freely and beautifully that it’s almost like a poem. He is also very, very quotable, just like John Green. For example,

This is what love does: It makes you want to rewrite the world. It makes you want to choose the characters, build the scenery, guide the plot. The person you love sits across from you, and you want to do everything in your power to make it possible, endlessly possible. And when it’s just the two of you, alone in a room, you can pretend that this is how it is, this is how it will be.

or,

If you stare at the center of the universe, there is coldness there. A blankness. Ultimately, the universe doesn’t care about us. Time doesn’t care about us. That’s why we have to care about each other.

or even,

It is its own form of conversation — you can learn a lot about people from the stories they tell, but you can also know them from the way they sing along, whether they like the windows up or down, if they live by the map or by the world, if they feel the pull of the ocean.

And there are so many of these beautiful sentences that I had a hard time choosing only three! The writing is so beautiful that it sucks you in and doesn’t let you go. I would read other books by him just to experience this quality of writing again. But that doesn’t mean that the story isn’t interesting! It is! But the writing leaves the story behind by a wide margin. In the first half of the book, the plot is so very engaging. But I thought that it began to lag a bit from the middle. At one point, I even felt like the author himself didn’t know which path to take. But I really liked the ending. It was heartfelt and moving and beautiful.

Another thing that I really want to discuss about is the concept of gender in this book. The way that A thought about gender is something that I found to be very fascinating. And while I was reading the book, I constantly thought about it. I remembered Wanderer from The Host by Stephenie Meyer, which is somehow similar to this book, say that even though she would function well enough if she was put in the body of a male, she considers herself to be female. But A was different. He never really minded being male or female or transgender. At one point in the story, he describes gender as being similar to the clothes we wear. He describes how gender too is something you can put away if you can just look beyond the biological differences. I though that this was a really interesting observation! Throughout the book, there are these constant observations about how every human being is about 98% similar but we are never able to look past the 2%.

So, as you can see I am a really big fan for the writing style. But the story itself lacked direction. I was confused about how to actually rate it because the story was like a 2.5 for me but the writing was definitely a 5. Ultimately, I decided to give it a 4 on Goodreads. I would really recommend this book to everyone for the writing. Also, please recommend me some good David Levithan books because I would like to read more of his works. Have you read the book yet? If you have, did you like it? Please comment! Until next time then.

Fin!

My rating- 3.75/5.

My Goodreads rating-4/5.

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

