Book Traveling Thursday #2: Choose a monster of a book

It’s time for Book Traveling Thursdays! This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. So, here goes!

This week’s theme is to choose a monster of a book. A book with more than 500 pages. For this one, I chose The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I love, love, love this book. I can’t praise this book enough. If you want to know how much I love this book, I will link my Book Discussion here. Go check it out!

Original Cover:

19063This is the original cover of this book. I must admit that even though I like it for some strange reason, I don’t really understand it. Can I just take a moment and appreciate the way the title is written? I think it’s amazing! 🙂

Cover from my country (India):

1039461 91ndEtx1uWL._SL1500_These are the covers from my country. The left one is the original cover and the right one is, obviously, the movie cover. I think the left one really relates to the story. It shows Liesel and it also shows the Hubermann street. The right one also shows both of these. But I wonder, what is the picture of explosion for? For those who have already read this book, is this what I think it is? Comment about this below.

Favourite cover:

2195230 893136

These are the covers that I found the most beautiful. The left cover looks really beautiful because of the concept of Liesel walking the street with books, just like the covers from my country. The cover on the right shows Liesel and Death together, and it is also very beautiful. So, these are the covers that I think, are my favourite. I must mention that there were very few that were actually beautiful and did justice to the books.

Least Favourite Cover:

6225200 16095149 22732574

There were a LOT of bad covers for this book. I was really surprised to see so many covers I disliked. But ultimately, I had to choose these. I see no meaning to any of these and I really have to ask, what does the rose signify in the third cover? These three covers were completely off the mark, and i couldn’t find anything I liked about them.

So, here it is. Please tell me in the comments what do you think about these covers? Until next time.

Fin!

-Sanchita.

Leave a Reply

