Book Discussion: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

9460487This book was the creepiest book I’ve read since the Mara Dyer trilogy. But it didn’t turn out to be what I had expected. In some ways, that worked. But in a few ways, that disappointed me.

Goodreads Synopsis-

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

The book started off with a lot of creepy and unresolved things. It started off with Jacob, the protagonist of the novel, witnessing the death of his grandfather. And things get more and more mysterious from that point. The old photographs added to that effect. And I totally loved it.

The first part of the book had so many chilling moments. I felt terrified while reading this, even though I started reading this in a public place and I was surrounded by people. But then, after the reveal actually happened about the orphanage, I felt a little disappointed. I was expecting so much more! I was expecting to be scared as hell while reading this book. I have heard so many amazing things about this that I had very high expectations from it. Maybe, this is what that made me a little disappointed with it. But that doesn’t mean that it wasn’t good. It was beautiful! The writing style was really good. I loved how the author created this dark and gloomy setting to enhance the creepiness of the story. I found the middle part a bit slow though. When Jacob explores the orphanage and the other children and their abilities, it was a bit slow. I understand that it was necessary but I wish it could have been described in a more “exciting way” maybe! I don’t know. And then there’s the ending of the book. I love the twists and the reveals towards the ending. The confrontations were also amazing. So, I have no complaints about it.

I really loved the character of Jacob. I found his actions and thoughts very relatable. The way he adored his grandfather, and even though he kept questioning his stories, he could never completely reject them, was very endearing. His relationship with his family was also very understandable. The quote from the book, was one of the best lines I have come across in a long time.

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

Also, I really liked Emma and the other “peculiar” children. But sometimes, I found some of their actions, well, peculiar. The little romance (I think?) that sprang up was a little weird for me to take in. But it was okay in the end.

So, here it is. I must also say that there are so many things left to be resolved. And since the last book ( Again, I think?) is coming out at the end of this month, I guess I won’t have to wait very long. I want lots of answers from this series, so I will be reading Hollow City pretty soon. I recommend this book to everyone. Even though I had a few problems with it, I really liked it and would continue with the series. Please comment if you liked this book in case you have already read it. Well, until next time.

Fin!

My rating- 3.75/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. I didn’t like Miss Peregrine’s, I actually thought it was pretty bad. It was only slightly creepy in the beginning but then it was all gone once he actually met the children. I only want to read the second one to find out if Miss Peregrine turns back from being a bird and if she’s okay!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

