Book Traveling Thursday #1 – Your Favourite Childhood Book

From this month, I will start to do a weekly meme called Book Traveling Thursdays. This meme is created by the wonderful bloggers from Danielle’s Book Blog and The Girl Who Read Too Much. If you want to participate in this meme, you just have to go to the Goodreads group where the weekly themes will be announced at the beginning of each month. I will link the group here. After that, you have to just select a book according to the theme and explain why you chose this book in a blog post. In that post, you also have to choose different covers of the book you select. To be more specific, you have to post the original cover, the covers from you country, your favourite cover, and lastly, your least favourite cover. If it sounds too complicated, just wait till the end of this post. You’ll see that it’s actually quite simple. Here goes!

This week’s theme is a book I loved as a child. Or my favourite childhood book. Now, this wasn’t an easy decision as I loved a lot of books as a child. For example, I loved anything I read by Enid Blyton. And then there was Heidi by Johanna Spyri and Little Woman by Louisa M. Alcott. These are the books that I read countless times. But ultimately, I had to chooseย The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton.

Original cover:

22827646This is the oldest cover of the book that I could find. This cover is from 1971, which I guess, is the original cover. This cover is simple and captures some elements of the story. Personally, I think it’s an okay cover. But considering how old this book is, the cover is really good, as it matches the story.

Cover from my country (India):ย ย 

319966 23149848

I really like the first cover as it captures the mystery and enigma of the story. The second cover is also pretty cool. I really like how both the covers are really true to the story.

Favourite cover:

1364704I really like this cover. It has a certain beauty to it. It is magical and retains the classic charm of this book. So, I chose this one as my favourite.

Least Favourite Cover:

6064365I don’t like anything about this cover. The art is not at all appealing. I doubt any child would be fascinated with this cover enough to actually want to read it.

So, this is my first attempt to do this meme. How did I do? What do you think about these covers? Tell me in the comments. Until next time.

Fin!

-Sanchita.

9 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday #1 – Your Favourite Childhood Book

      1. Yes! It is so much fun! I found out about this towards the middle of August and I’ve wanted to do it since then. But I told myself to wait till the start of September. And here I am! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

