Book Discussion: Legend Series by Marie Lu

9275658 13414446 14290364

This is a series that has been on my TBR pile for a long, long time. And finally, much to the credit of my friend and co-blogger Ishita, I finally picked this up. Though this was a very frustrating series for me, both in a good and bad way, I am glad that I read it.

Goodreads Synopsis for Legend-

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

This discussion is going to be spoiler-filled. So, if you haven’t read this series yet, I would suggest you to go read it first. Trust me, though I had some problems with it, I found it to be really good and worth reading. So, go read it!

Okay. While reading these books, I constantly compared them to The Hunger Games series. These series’ really struck me to be quite similar. There’s the corrupt government, the strong protagonist, the “protecting my weak family” angle and all these. Then there’s Day, who is sort of halfway between Gale and Peeta. But there are many differences too. That being said, I liked the Hunger Games trilogy more.

The plot is very engaging. I like that there is always something happening and you can’t take your eyes off the book. There are so many moment where I’m like,

1r6ouo

and Marie Lu just kept throwing these moments without giving me time to cope. In Legend, the most surprising moment for me was learning about Metias’ death. I couldn’t believe that Thomas did it. I didn’t like that guy, but I couldn’t think so low of him! And then, in Prodigy, there was the assassination attempt by the Congress, obviously. And then there’s Champion. When I found out about what happened to Day, I was so frustrated!

13613447981142507204

656143

After all these drama, all the things that June and Day experienced together, how can Day forget everything? Yes, I get it. They had to begin afresh and all, but this was no solution. The ending did not make up for this. I would really like a novella where we get to see what happens after. So, Ms. Marie Lu, if you are reading (which is highly improbable), please give me more! So, as you can see, I really liked the plot, except for the ending.

The characters of this series is also something I liked. Although, I didn’t fall in love with these characters as much as I wanted to, I really admired them. June is this bad-ass protagonist and she is one of those few characters whose decisions I didn’t question. So, extra points to Ms. June Iparis for occupying ranks equivalent to characters like Katniss Everdeen.

giphy

Our other protagonist, Day, is also really good. Between these two, I had a hard time figuring out who I like more. They are both so right from their own perspectives that when their opinions clashed, I couldn’t choose one over the other.

tumblr_mbi4zudgZN1qh3kph

Day’s swoon-worthy looks and personality didn’t help either. And together, their relationship is so beautiful, and yet so tragic and complicated that I just couldn’t.

TOuaUOu

tumblr_inline_no7vs6Cit61rxnqwf_500

feels__4_

So, this is my book discussion of the Legend series. It isn’t how I normally write these but since I wrote about three books at once, I thought it would be better to show how I felt with these fun gifs. Otherwise, it would have been too big a review for me to write. It’s simply not possible to go through all the important events in detail because there are too many. So, tell me if you liked this. Also, tell me if you don’t and if I should stick to the way I usually write. Comment about the series and if you liked the ending. I always want to hear from the people who read my posts. So, that’s all I have to say. Until next time.

Fin!

My rating- 4/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

3 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Legend Series by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

