Where She Went – Gayle Forman : Book Discussion

where-she-went  

WHERE SHE WENT , well it’s the sequel to If I Stay , now a major film by Gayle Forman. Okay , so before I start , lets make a small confession , I haven’t read If I Stay , and have just watched the movie and it was pretty good , but after reading Where She Went , the first thing that comes to my mind , is why haven’t I read it ???

Though it’s a sequel , yet it can be easily considered as a standalone , as the plot , is well described , and even if you haven’t read the first part , you won’t surely be having any problem understanding this.

From Goodreads

It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future – and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

If I stay was written from Mia’s perspective , and this one is from Adam’s . Well the first few chapters were really really well described , and at times it gave me goosebumps , serious ones. The middle part for me was a bit slow , and I was a bit annoyed with Mia , for leaving Adam just like that and moving on with her new life , and I was a bit disappointed as my expectations were going down. But what blew my mind were the last 100 pages. Gayle Forman , just nailed it.

The book is almost 250 pages , and is quiet a good read , and there are a few things that I personally liked a lot , for eg … the lyrics , its like every one or other chapter begins with this few lines of a song, and that touch makes it quiet unique . I also liked how Adam kept remembering the old things , the flashback moments , and the way the past and the present was connected , though at times , it was boring. Yes , I was annoyed with Mia , but at the end I understood her reasons too , still lets not talk about it  * No Spoilers *.

Overall it’s a really nice book , and even if you haven’t read If I Stay , like me , then also I will suggest give it a try , it won’t be a waste of time .

Cheers !!!

P.S : This is my first post here , and I am really nervous about it . And I really want to thank my friend Sanchita , for recommending the book .

Thanks for reading.

– Ishita 🙂

Leave a Reply

