Book Discussion: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.

17788401 

Okay. Can I just start by saying how appropriate this cover is? I mean I love this cover! It’s itself very beautiful but it also totally captures the essence of the story. Also, since water played a major role in the story and this “liquid” theme is prevalent throughout the story, the cover is really on fleek. Yes, I just said on fleek. Don’t judge me, please! As for the book, I am not so sure.

Goodreads Synopsis-

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

I had so many expectations from this book. It had such a good rating on Goodreads. I have heard incredible things about this from various people. But I guess it just wasn’t for me. The premise sounded somewhat like The Duff , but instead of YA, this was New Adult. Trust me, I like romance stories. In fact, I love romance stories. But I couldn’t quite figure out what my problem with this story was. Because I have read many other stories having the same kind of dynamics as this one had, and loved them. Maybe, it was the characters. I could never really get into the story. I didn’t really buy the plot and I couldn’t accept what the characters were doing. When you read the story, you can understand, that the characters were made to be likeable. I was meant to sympathize with the characters, but I just couldn’t care about them enough to do so.

What more can I say? Hmm. I didn’t like Miles. There. I said it. Sure, he had his tragic past he couldn’t get over. But, come on! That is no excuse to treat Tate like he did. And you know what the worst part is? Tate tolerated it. Why do female characters have to be the weak ones! This is my biggest complaint with most romances. I just don’t get why male characters get to be the strong ones and the female characters have to be weak and gentle and always accept whatever they are given by the male character and basically act like a doormat to have a “relationship”! Tate did exactly this. She let Miles do whatever he wanted to do with her and then threw her away. Again and again. What he did in the end doesn’t make up for the things he did to her. But of course she took him back. She is the protagonist of a romance novel! She has to take him back!

I have nothing else to say about this book. I didn’t like it. And if you like to read about strong female characters, I doubt you are going to like it either. I don’t have anything against the people who did like this book. If you are one them, you can try to convince me in the comments what there is to like about this book. But if you haven’t read it, I don’t recommend wasting your time. There are lots of amazing books out there in the world. Go read them because this book is not one of them. I can say this because usually I am a very easy-to-please reader. Ugly Love is a book that I regret reading. I loves Colleen Hoover’s writing. I loved Maybe Someday by her. This book just tainted my love for her writing.

Fin!

My rating- 2.5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 3/5.

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.

Leave a Reply

