Book Discussion: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

16068905 Fangirl. The title of this book totally describes the content. This story is about fangirling. And so, this is the most appropriate book for me because I love fangirling! If you knew me, you would know that I fangirl about anything and everything. And now, I am going to fangirl about this book. Because it made me wonder why the hell did I put this book off for so long? Well I am an idiot that’s why! So if you haven’t read the book yet, stop reading this and go read the book! And then please come back and read this discussion because I want to know what you think about it.

Goodreads Synopsis-

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

What this synopsis doesn’t tell you is how realistic this book is. And how amazing the protagonist is. I think they should have mentioned Levi too with, you know, more descriptions. But that may just be me being biased towards Levi. This is what the book does to you! It makes you want to enter the world of this book and give Cath and Levi a big hug! And for Levi, maybe a big kiss too. But that’s also because I am totally in love with him.

Let’s talk about Cath. I love how Rainbow Rowell’s characters are feminists in their own ways. First. there was Eleanor in Eleanor and Park and now Cath. She is such a strong character even though it may not feel so sometimes. Somewhere along the way, I fell in love with her voice, her perspectives and her as a whole. She is a great narrator and her unique voice raises the story to a new level. Her relationships, her inhibitions and her awkwardness is all very relatable which made me get into this story more. The transition from high-school to college and everything that happens during that time is described perfectly by Cath and as I experienced the same things just a year ago, I could relate a lot to that too. And then the insecurities she had when she started out to have a relationship are so me. The awkwardness during the relationship is so me too. I would say that Cath is 85% me or vice-versa. And so, she will always remain close to my heart.

The other characters include Wren and Reagan and of course Levi. But there is also Cath’s father and her Fiction Writing teacher. An amazing set of characters make this book even more special. It’s not that I liked all of them a lot. I didn’t like Wren very much even though I could understand why she was doing some things. But it’s just that the characters make the book what it is! Even though Reagan didn’t have a very big role, I really liked her. She was the perfect roommate to Cather. And when needed, the perfect companion. I really liked Levi from the beginning of the book and couldn’t understand what Cath’s problem with him was. But as the book went on, I feel in love with him more and more. He is not a stereotypical goody two shoes boy. Neither is he a bad boy. But he is somewhere in between. He doesn’t always know what the right thing to say or to do is. But he tries. And we did get to see few fights between Cath and Levi which made them seem more like a realistic relationship and not the perfect relationship most books try to create.

Then there’s the Simon Snow part of the story. Simon Snow is like the Harry Potter of our world. Before the start of any chapter in this book, there is an excerpt from Simon Snow books or fanfiction or something about Simon Snow. There are also some fanfictions that are narrated by Cath to Levi. Though, at first it felt like these excerpts were hindering the main story, slowly I got used to them and they fit into the story in a way that I would have never thought possible. And I loved them.

This is not a book that was exceptional. This is not a book that blew me away. But when I was reading it, I never wanted it to end. I wanted more of Cath and Levi and I wanted more of the story! The story was like watching a TV series and I wished it was because then it could be brought back for a second season! I really, really wanted to read more about them. It was such a cute, sweet story and I loved it. If you are one of those people who tried to read it and couldn’t get through the first 50 pages or so, I suggest you push through it because the second part of the book is so amazing that I promise you won’t regret reading it. Please, please, PLEASE read it. That’s all I want to say.

Fin!

My rating- 4/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Leave a Reply

