Book Discussion: “The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend” by Kody Keplinger

6931356  Okay! Let’s get started.

This may or may not be a ranting post because I am not sure I would be able to arrange my thoughts long enough to post a coherent discussion to this book. But I am going to try. I must admit that I didn’t expect much while going into this book. Sure everyone was talking about how good this book was, but I didn’t believe them. I just thought that this would be one of those light, sort of meaningless but satisfying books. And the cover just reinstated my idea of this one. But when I read it, I was so surprised at the amount of depth added to this book despite it being a light, breezy high-school story. It was so much more than just a “romcom”. It was addicting. I flew through this book in a few hours and totally fell in love with Bianca and Wesley.

Goodreads Synopsis-

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face. But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him. Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

I know. I know. If you haven’t read the book, it sounds like a typical chick-lit for you. But trust me, it’s not. The book had so many layers that you would be wonderfully surprised as you keep on discovering them. There is a friendship story and unlike many other books, this one does not stereotype the high-school students. They are not clinched. In spite of being in a particular group, the characters are layered and complicated. I loved Casey and Jessica as Bianca’s friends. Though Casey sometimes felt like she was one of those people who always have to be the savior, she was a good friend to Bianca. Jessica, being the perky one, is really innocent and naive, as Bianca rightly describes her. But for some reason, I liked her a lot. Maybe even more than Casey. Her advices to Bianca towards the end of the book may or may not have something to do with that (It totally did!).

Another aspect of the story is the relationship between Bianca and her parents. I totally understood Bianca’s reactions to certain situations she goes through in the book. Like the way she reacts when her father relapses. I could relate a lot because I share the same relation with my father like Bianca did. But Bianca’s reaction to her mom was something I found to be very generous. Overall, I liked Bianca’s character a lot. She is a strong female protagonist and God knows we need more of them. The feminist aspect added to the story through her character was also something I appreciated a lot. So thank you, Miss Kody Keplinger!

Now lets talk about Wesley. Where do I start? Again, Wesley was another unexpected love I found while reading this book. Oh, Wesley! How can you be so perfect! Obviously, I didn’t like him at first because Bianca didn’t like him. But as I read on, he kind of grew on me. Even with his thousand flaws, I can say that I am in love with him. Sorry, I am fangirling. But really, I can’t say a thing about him without swooning. And that letter he wrote to Bianca melted my heart. Honestly, why did it take so long for Bianca to decide? The letter would have been enough for me! But I am not Bianca. And ultimately, what she did felt right.

Did this post make any sense? Anyway, if you are one of those few people who haven’t read it yet, what are you waiting for? Go READ IT! It’s a sweet romance but it’s also so much more than that! I loved it and I reckon you are going to love it too. If you have read it, please leave a comment! I would love to talk about it to you. And if you know some more books like this, that you think I would like, please comment about that too. Because I always like recommendations from my fellow readers.

Fin!

My rating- 4/5.

My Goodreads rating- 4/5.

-Sanchita.

3 thoughts on “Book Discussion: “The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend” by Kody Keplinger

Leave a Reply

