Book Discussion : P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

20698530 I am going to start this discussion with a quote from the book which may be a mild spoiler but it’s also partially expected. At some point in the book, these words are spoken by the main character, Lara Jean.

What will I do now that Peter’s not my boyfriend anymore?

This sentence must be enough to tell you what you are going to go into if you decide to read the book.

Goodreads Summary

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

This book starts off exactly where the previous one left off. And we get to see the love story of Lara Jean and Peter develop in this one(lucky me!). I did not find our protagonist to be very strong, or rather I should say I found her weak and whiny. I don’t mean to be harsh but its true. Even her nine-year old sister Kitty is stronger than her. I don’t think the female protagonist should be weakened in any way to have a good romance. But in this book, the idea seems to be that the female needs “protecting” from various things (Trust me! There’s a lot of these moments.) and Peter seems to be the one doing the job. Or if by any chance Peter is absent, there will be another boy to “protect” her, or there will be a sister or a father. Lara Jean seems to be unable to do anything for her own good. All she needs are few “romantic” moments with Peter to make her happy. These “romantic” moments also include vague sexist comments by Peter. And some that are obviously insulting but found to be “romantic” by our Lara Jean. So, needless to say, I couldn’t tolerate them.

Many would argue, that its supposed to be a sweet, cute and fun story and that I should not dissect the story so much. But the characters of a book matter to me a lot. And when the author is unable to make me fall in love with the characters, I consider that book a waste of time. I found both Lara Jean and Peter to be intolerable. And their “romance”, shallow and unhealthy. The character I did like in this book was made out to be the third-wheel. You know who I am talking about if you have read the book. So, I did not appreciate that.

But the family aspect of the book is something I did like. I craved more of Lara Jean’s relationship with her sisters and her father. I was actually more interested in her father’s dating life and I kept hoping that he would finally have someone he liked. But sadly, his plot line was left hanging. Maybe Miss Jenny Han is going to write another book in this series. And if she does, I am going to read that one just hoping to get a closure for Mr. Covey. But all in all, I loved the way the importance of family was weaved into this story.

So, I recommend this book if you like sweet, middle-grade romances but this was simply not for me. This is just my personal opinion and please don’t be offended if you don’t feel the same way. Feel free to state your opinion in the comment section. I would love to hear what you thought about this book. And if you haven’t yet read the book but you do want to read it, make sure you can ignore the things I talked about. I am not discouraging you from reading it! You can read anything you want to and this book was loved by a lot of people. This even has a 4.24 rating on Goodreads at the time I am writing this. So, I guess at least some people loved it. Even if it wasn’t me.

Fin!

My rating- 2.5/5.

My Goodreads rating- 3/5.

-Sanchita.

2 thoughts on “Book Discussion : P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. I know I wouldn’t like this book. That quote- “What will I do now that Peter’s not my boyfriend anymore?”
    I mean, seriously? Grow up, woman!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

